Project 3 – Hat

Standard

For “Project 3 – Hat”, I went with a DIY I had seen on someone’s blog, probably found through Pinterest.  This post was for a girls’, ages 2-5, Tulip Petal Sun Hat.  I wanted mine to have more of a “fisherman’s hat” look.  Below you can see how I adjusted the pattern.  I made it a few inches longer and took out the “petal” part.

It was a bit of a trial and error.  At first, I cut 8 “petals” thinking the original pattern is for a 2-5 year old so I would have to make it larger for my adult head.  I sewed the 6 petals first.  In her tutorial, she had a seam allowance of 5/8″.  I used 3/8″ thinking it might create some more room so maybe I could just use 6 “petals”.  Using the 3/8″ seam allowance at 6 “petals”, it was too big!

I took the hat apart and sewed it together again with a 5/8″ seam allowance.  That was still a little loose but worked for that style of hat.  I’m wondering if when I printed the pattern, it sized up or something.  Not sure.  Maybe I have a baby head?

You can basically follow the instructions given in her blog.

1) Sew 3 panels of lining.

2) Sew the other 3 panels of lining.

3) Sew those 2 pieces together.

4) Do steps 1-3 for the shell of the hat.

5) Match up lining and shell.

6) Sew together, leaving space to flip right side out.

The only difference was my pattern.  I also chose to top stitch twice around the brim of the hat.  Then, add your buttons.  I got to use one of the vintage metal ones I’ve been holding onto.

I like how you can flip-up the brim to show the funky underside or keep it down for a simpler look.  It has a great Rain Hat look, too!

 

 

 

 

 

With Love,

Rhianna

Leave a Reply

