Doggone Tired

Standard

An old friend of mine came out of the woodwork, which was awesome enough!  To add to that, he wanted ME to complete his dog bed.  My friend is super talented and makes all kinds of stuff.  He made this awesome dog bed out of wood for his puppers.

Dog Be Before Me

(A picture of a picture.  I feel like a sales rep for my day job, “we can use this, right?”.)

What’s missing?

A very nice cover and some pillows…duh!  He provided me with a piece of patchwork they had been placing over the old couch cushions that were glued together.  Hey, seems good enough for a dog…they aren’t too picky when it comes to where to sleep.  He had also sent me a picture of the dog bed they used to have. 

Dog on Old Dog Bed

He was leaving the rest up to me.  Originally, when we talked he said about using the patchwork piece for the top.  Something in me wouldn’t allow that.  Maybe it was my stylish side reminding me off all the patchwork/hippie attire I used to sport…not sure but I had to come up with something that would fulfill his request yet also not make me shudder from flashbacks!

So, as I like to do, I threw all the ideas and materials into the “pot” (that’s my brain).  Suddenly, the light bulb got very bright!  I decided to make a dog bone or paw print out of the patchwork and applique it onto ( yes, one of my favorite materials) outdoor canvas!

This project was really fun for me.  I got to be creative and basically make it the way I wanted.  I got to do a lot of shopping around to get him the best prices out there.  It felt really good when I knew I was getting him the best deal or saving 40% on material (love you JoAnn Fabrics).  I also learned a lot of new things.  1) Foam is an expensive pain in the @ss.  There is a good way to cut it, but I must not have chosen the right method…hehe!  But it all worked out. 2) I’ve shared this before, but, seam rippers are your friend.

Below is the finished project.  The foam is covered in a muslim material and the cover was made out of the outdoor canvas.  It has a zipper across the back so it is removable to wash up, if needed.  The 2 roll pillows are also made from the outdoor canvas with the patchwork on the ends to bring it all together.

Dog Bed with PillowsDog Bed

 

 

Dog Bed with Pillows & Dog

 

I was really happy with this! From the picture, you can see this little stinky-pants likes it too!  “Mommy” & “Daddy” were also both pleased with the results.

There’s only one thing that I am disappointed with.  At first, I wasn’t going to include my disappointment in this post but I think it’s important for everyone to remember, we make mistakes…and hindsight is 20/20.  The only thing I wish I would’ve accounted for is the pillows.  I should have made the bone a little smaller horizontally so when the pillows were placed on the bed, the bone wasn’t partially covered.  There!  I said it!

But it’s still pretty freakin’ awesome, right???

With Love,

Rhianna

Leave a Reply

