Project 5 – Shoes

Standard

Think back…way back…like a year ago.  A lovely lady was changing her blog and giving herself a Craft Challenge (with herself).  4 out of the 5 projects were completed and posted…number 5, well, it was hibernating.  Summer ended and the idea I had for “Shoes” seemed a little less practical.  I can’t wear flip-flops in the snow!

Summer is here again…the 1 year anniversary for my blog was the other day…I think it’s time to wrap up the Craft Challenge!

I’m not gonna lie.  I started this project that involved weaving bamboo coasters together to make a natural weave bottom.  I don’t really like plastic flip-flops.  I like the natural bottom.  Old Navy had maybe 2 summers where they made them and that was like 5 years or more ago.  It’s impossible to find them (for me)…so why not make my own?  Let me tell you why not – no one should spend hours and hours of their life on a pair of flip-flops.  They are just flip-flops.  I still need a shoe project though…hum…(light bulb)!

Look at these sad, very loved flip-flops.  They weren’t made with the best quality bottom…so gradually, I ended up walking on what felt like paper.  Time to give these flip-flops an extended pass at life.

Before

I started by ripping off the old, thin sole.  First with an Exacto knife, then just ripped.

I glued down the thong and sides to the bottom and held them in place with some office supplies.  I let them dry overnight.  The glue I am using is fast bonding, water and weather proof.

Straps glued

Next, I took my new, white, plastic Old Navy flip-flops ($2.50) and cut off the plastic straps.

Top to Bottom

I applied glue to half of the plastic flip-flop…I began placing my old flip-flop on top.  Matching everything up as best as I could.  I applied glue to the second half and press everywhere.  The nice thing with the fast bonding glue is you only need to take a few minutes pushing everything together before it holds.

My flip-flops didn’t match up EXACTLY, especially at the toe.  Once both were glued and dried overnight, I took my jewelry hand saw and cut off the end.  Then, I got out my dremel and smoothed down where I had to cut.

I think they look pretty good.  I may clean up the ends where the white has been scuffed off the front with some paint or something, but other than that…my flip-flops live again!

Finished FlipflopWith Love,

Rhianna

Leave a comment